It is currently May 25th, 2018, 5:32 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Drilling out a broken shaft
PostPosted: July 26th, 2012, 12:46 am 

OK, this may be the 1st thread I've started here and I, full well, expect Dillon to comment. :wink:

I have used a little thingy from Golfworks to pull broken shafts out of heads, but lately it just guts the shaft and leave the outer remnant. I don't know if the graphite has dulled it's bite or what and Golfworks told me to send it back. Tell me in details how you drill a shaft out of the head. I need drill bit sizes, types of bits and how you hold the head if by hand (no comments from the peanut gallery) or otherwise. I have 2 heads sitting here that I don't want to screw up. Both are .350, but I'd like to hear specifics about .335 too.

Thanks in advance.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Drilling out a broken shaft
PostPosted: July 26th, 2012, 4:33 am 

Landon, I am no expert, but I did remove a broken graphite shaft with a drill bit and this is how I approached it.

1. I started with a drill bit that will fit in what is left of the broken shaft.
2. Next I heated the hosel as if I was going to pull the shaft.
3. Then I heated the drill bit (used heat gun for both).
4. I inserted the bit into what was left of the shaft and twisted by hand.

What happened for me was that the bit caught was left of the shaft and I was able to extract (kind of like extracting a broken screw). I have one of those sand paper hosel cleaners that used to remove the remaining residue:

If that doesn't work or you do not get the whole piece of broken shaft out, gradually increase the size of the drill bit and repeat heating the hosel and drill bits.