It is currently August 19th, 2018, 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Power Play System Q2 w/Rapport Pro-Jec R
PostPosted: February 14th, 2011, 7:28 pm 

I recently put together a new set of the Q2 irons (5-GW) with Rapport Pro-Jec R graphite hybrid/iron shafts in R flex. I've been playing SE 600XCs since 2006 so I was ready to try something different. (I don't change out the irons very often like most other clubs in the bag.) I mainly wanted to try an iron set with graphite shafts and Hireko's reasonable prices on iron heads were appealing for the experiment.

It was a tough choice between the System Q2, Acer XK Pro, Acer XDS React or the Acer XF line. Ultimately I decided to try wider soles, which left me between the Q2's and the XDS Reacts. There seemed to be more positive reviews of the Q2's (no doubt since they've been around longer) so I went with those.

The Pro-Jec R hybid/iron shafts are interesting--butt cut only. No tip trimming at all. Sure made for an easy build. [8D] I have no previous experience with them but they were heavily discounted at Golfworks so gave them a shot. The shafts came in weighing between 95.0 and 97.5 grams with three of the seven weighing 96.5 grams. I could not decide whether to build them the same length as my 600XCs (38 inch 5-iron) or 1/2 inch longer due to the lighter shafts, so I split the difference and made them 1/4 inch longer. When I saw the orange graphics on the shafts I went with some orange grips to aggravate my playing partners. Dang, I forgot to align the graphics in assorted ways to make it look like I spined and flo'd them. :wink: